Contact Us

Songs by R.E.M., Nirvana and David Bowie Inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame

Scott Gries / Frank Micelotta / Hulton Archive, Getty Images
Scott Gries / Frank Micelotta / Hulton Archive, Getty Images

The Recording Academy has revealed the 25 songs and albums that will be enshrined in the Grammy Hall of Fame. These include such works as “Losing My Religion” by R.E.M., “Smells Like Teen Spirit” by Nirvana and David Bowie‘s “Changes.”

“The Grammy Hall of Fame represents all genres of music, acknowledging the diversity of musical expression for which The Academy has become renowned,” said the Recording Academy president and CEO Neil Portnow in a statement. “Memorable and inspiring, these recordings are proudly added to our growing catalog and are an integral part of our musical, social and cultural history.”

You can see the full list below. In addition to the names previously mentioned, the Academy is also bestowing the award upon such classics as “ABC” by the Jackson 5, “When the Saints Go Marching In” by Louis Armstrong, “I Get Around” by the Beach Boys and Prince‘s Sign ‘O’ the Times album.

This year’s crop brings the hall’s total to 1,038 recordings in the 44 years that it has been in existence. In order to qualify, the recording must be at least 25 years old and, according to the statement, “exhibit qualitative or historical significance.” A committee of members of the Recording Academy creates the list of nominees, and the inductees are determined by the Academy’s National Board of Trustees. The Hall of Fame is located inside the Grammy Museum at L.A. Live.

2017 Grammy Hall of Fame Inductees

Arlo Guthrie – “The City of New Orleans”
The Beach Boys – “I Get Around”
Billie Holiday – Lady Sings the Blues
Blind Willie McTell – “Statesboro Blues”
Bonnie Raitt – “I Can’t Make You Love Me”
Cab Calloway and His Orchestra – “(Hep-Hep!) The Jumpin’ Jive”
David Bowie – “Changes”
Deep Purple – “Smoke on the Water”
Dion – “The Wanderer”
Elvis Presley – “Jailhouse Rock”
The Everly Brothers – “Wake Up Little Susie”
Jackson 5 – “ABC”
Lalo Schifrin – “Mission-Impossible”
Lesley Gore – “You Don’t Own Me”
Louis Armstrong and His Orchestra – “When the Saints Go Marching In”
Merle HaggardOkie From Muskogee
Mills Brothers – “You Always Hurt the One You Love”
Mississippi John Hurt – “Stack O’Lee Blues”
N.W.A.Straight Outta Compton
Nirvana – “Smells Like Teen Spirit”
Prince – Sign ‘O’ the Times
R.E.M. – “Losing My Religion”
Rod Stewart – “Maggie May”
Sly & the Family Stone – “Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)”
Sonny & Cher – “I Got You Babe”

Best of KMMS FM

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Moose Prize Closet quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Moose Prize Closet contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.