Contact Us

Listen to a Previously Unreleased White Stripes Song, ‘City Lights,’ From ‘Jack White Acoustic Recordings 1998 – 2016′

Subscribe to The Moose 95.1 FM on

On Sept. 9, Jack White will release Jack White Acoustic Recordings 1998 – 2016, a two-record set that brings together nearly 20 years of his acoustic works. “City Lights,” an unreleased White Stripes track, is embedded above.

According to the press release found on Third Man Records’ website, “City Lights” was recorded for 2005’s Get Behind Me Satan. White rediscovered the song when he was assembling the vinyl reissue for Record Store Day in 2015, and put some finishing touches on it earlier this year.

Sequenced chronologically, the 26 tracks on Jack White Acoustic Recordings 1998 – 2016 are such well known cuts by White as “Hotel Yorba” and “We’re Going to Be Friends” from the White Stripes’ breakthrough album Elephant, as well as the Beck-produced b-side “Honey, We Can’t Afford To Look This Cheap” and different versions of the Raconteurs‘ “Top Yourself” and “Carolina Drama.” Also included are rarities like “Sugar Never Tasted So Good,” “Never Far Away” and “Machine Gun Silhouette.” The full track listing can be found below.

The collection, in vinyl, compact disc and digital formats, is available for pre-order, with an instant download of “City Lights.” Famed music writer Greil Marcus wrote the liner notes.

Jack White Acoustic Recordings 1998 – 2016 Track Listing

Side A

1.” Sugar Never Tasted So Good”
2. “Apple Blossom” (Remixed)
3. “I’m Bound to Pack It Up” (Remixed)
4. “Hotel Yorba”
5. “We’re Going to Be Friends”
6. “You’ve Got Her in Your Pocket”
7. “Well It’s True That We Love One Another”
8. “Never Far Away”

Side B

1. “Forever For Her (Is Over For Me)”
2. “White Moon”
3. “As Ugly as I Seem”
4. “City Lights” (Previously Unreleased White Stripes Track)
5. “Honey, We Can’t Afford to Look This Cheap”
6. “Effect & Cause”

Side C

1. “Love Is the Truth” (Acoustic Mix)
2. “Top Yourself” (Bluegrass Version)
3. “Carolina Drama” (Acoustic Mix)
4. “Love Interruption”
5. “On and On and On”
6. “Machine Gun Silhouette” (Acoustic Mix)

Side D

1. “Blunderbuss”
2. “Hip (Eponymous) Poor Boy” (Alternate Mix)
3. “I Guess I Should Go to Sleep” (Alternate Mix)
4. “Just One Drink” (Acoustic Mix)
5. “Entitlement”
6. “Want And Able”

Every Jack White Album Ranked Worst to Best

Next: Top 10 Album-Opening Tracks

Best of KMMS FM

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Moose Prize Closet quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Moose Prize Closet contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.