Franz Ferdinand have announced a new album titled Always Ascending. Their first release since 2013's Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action is due on Feb. 9, 2018. The Scottish dance-punk outfit also unveiled the record's first single in conjunction with the announcement. Listen to the title track above, and check out the complete track listing below.

Franz Ferdinand stoked excitement last week by tweeting out a 10-second snippet of new music. The brief clip featured today's date in a disco-inspired font, accompanied with a burst of music that turns out to be from "Always Ascending."

Through this announcement follows a stateside tour earlier this year, new music from Franz Ferdinand has been something of a rarity. They released an ad hoc anti-Trump song called "Demagogue" last October, two years after a collaboration on FSS with Ron and Russell Mael, the central songwriting duo behind the eccentric art-pop group, Sparks.

Always Ascending marks the first Franz Ferdinand recording without guitarist Nick McCarthy, who left last year. He had performed on every album since their self-titled debut in 2004. Frontman Alex Kapranos has labeled their previous album "a good bookend to a period," adding that Always Ascending "feels like the perfect introduction to the decade that's about to come."

'Always Ascending' Track Listing
"Always Ascending"
"Lazy Boy"
"Paper Cages"
"The Academy Award"
"Lois Lane"
"Huck and Jim"
"Glimpse of Love"
"Feel the Love Go"
"Slow Don’t Kill Me Slow"

The 50 Most Influential Alternative Musicians of the 21st Century

More From The Moose 94.7 FM