As the global refugee crisis continues to be a major issue, the We Are Not Afraid campaign has brought in some A-list celebrities to their cause. Today (Nov. 3), they unveiled a video, which is embedded above, that features more than 175 celebrities, including Robert Plant, Bruce Springsteen and Keith Richards, declaring that there is no reason to fear those who seek political asylum.

"We are a nation of immigrants, most of whom were refugees from one human tragedy or another,” said songwriter Steve Earle, who appears in the video. “The very idea of closing our hearts and our borders out of fear of newcomers is the death of the American Dream itself."

The clip, directed by former 10cc member Kevin Godley, uses the song “We Are Not Afraid” by Nigerian reggae musician Majek Fashek, and other classic rockers like Brian May, Iggy Pop, Sting, Joe Walsh, Donald Fagen, Ringo Starr and Rob Halford, in addition to other artists like Robert De Niro, Chuck D and the Preservation Hall Jazz Band, all holding signs saying “Not Afraid.” The track can be purchased at all major digital outlets via this link, with all proceeds going to Human Rights Watch and the International Rescue Committee.

“We’re alarmed by the hateful and dangerous rhetoric coming from politicians across Europe and the United States,” Kenneth Roth, executive director of Human Rights Watch, said in a press release. “We must not allow the rising threat of racism and hate to violate our most basic principles of humanity. We’re moved and grateful that so many artists are speaking out and standing with us for human rights.”

For more information on We Are Not Afraid, and to see the complete list of participants, visit their website.

Led Zeppelin Albums Ranked Worst to Best

More From The Moose 94.7 FM