Is Driving Without a Front License Plate Illegal in Montana?
Is driving without a front license plate illegal in Montana? Here's what Montana law says about it.
I've noticed quite a few cars in Montana without front license plates, so I decided to do some research and figure out if it's legal or not.
Is it Illegal to Drive Without a Front License Plate in Montana?
The answer is yes.
All motor vehicles must have one license plate displayed on the front and one license plate displayed on the rear of the motor vehicle.
There is an exception to the law if you're unable to attach a license plate to the front of your car due to your vehicle's body construction. You can apply for a waiver. Details can be found below.
According to Montana Code Annotated 61-3-301;
If a person is not able to comply with the requirement that a front license plate be displayed because of the body construction of the motor vehicle, the person may submit to the highway patrol an application for a waiver along with a $25 inspection fee. A certificate of waiver may be issued upon inspection of the vehicle by a highway patrol officer. If a certificate of waiver is issued, the certificate must at all times be carried in the motor vehicle and must be displayed upon demand of a peace officer. Money collected from the inspection fee must be deposited in a highway revenue account in the state special revenue fund to the credit of the department of transportation.
If you've been driving around without a front license plate and don't have a waiver, consider yourself lucky if you haven't been caught. A first offense can result in a fine of no less than $250 and no more than $500. For more information about Montana law regarding driving without a front license plate, click here.