Kings of Leon have released "Waste a Moment," the first single from their forthcoming seventh album, Walls.

Due Oct. 14 and available for pre-order now, the new record marks the group's first full-length effort since 2013's Mechanical Bull and finds them working with producer Markus Dravs, whose previous credits include work for Arcade Fire. As previously reported, Walls arrives after a difficult period for the group; as singer Caleb Followill put it, "There comes a point when you realize you’ve lost that passion and that hunger. You’re chastened and want to get it back — and in order to get it back it’s like, ‘Forget about record sales, forget about the size of the venue you’re playing, forget about any of that stuff.'"

Followill discussed the making of the album with Entertainment Weekly, telling the magazine they "did what you’re supposed to do in the studio" while making Walls — namely, "fought each other and loved each other." Saying it's "f---ing scary" to contemplate the way the new album could "change" people after they hear it, he vowed that the band is well and truly beyond the difficulties they've faced in recent years.

"We’re in the best place we’ve ever been," insisted Followill. "We’re enjoying what we’re doing, and we have a great relationship outside of making music. A lot of bands don’t make it this long, especially family bands. Right now we’re more excited than we’ve ever been to work."

Check out "Waste a Moment" above, and take a look at the complete Walls track listing below.

Kings of Leon, Walls Track Listing

1. "Waste a Moment"
2. "Reverend"
3. "Around the World"
4. "Find Me"
5. "Over"
6. "Muchacho"
7. "Conversation Piece"
8. "Eyes on You"
9. "Wild"
10. "WALLS"

The 50 Most Influential Alternative Musicians of the 21st Century

More From The Moose 94.7 FM